Success Story Sobrado & VSHN

Success Story Sobrado & VSHN

With VSHN, SOBRADO has found a reliable Swiss partner for the operation of its IT platforms. Through automation and streamlining of operating processes, new versions and features can be rolled out much faster and SOBRADO’s software is therefore closer to its customers, the brokers. Silvan Mühlemann, CTO of SOBRADO, explains in an interview how the cooperation between SOBRADO and VSHN went.

 

Interview with Silvan Mühlemann, CTO and co-founder of SOBRADO

Hello Silvan, can you briefly explain what SOBRADO does?

SOBRADO optimizes the tender and offer process for insurance brokers and providers. With SOBRADO, brokers can easily enter tenders and send them to all providers. Offers of the insurance companies are then automatically evaluated and can be seen by the broker in a comparison. Brokers thus work more efficiently and securely.

What is your role at SOBRADO?

I am co-founder of the platform, I am CTO and therefore responsible for the software development, the technical infrastructure – and the team that makes this possible. In addition, I wrote the code for the PDF parser – the core component that automatically evaluates offers.

What challenges did you face with your application and infrastructure?

Over the years, the number of users, the volume of data processed, and the amount of program code have grown continuously.

This led to various problems with the existing infrastructure. The biggest: scaling the application became increasingly difficult. On the other hand, we had increasing problems deploying the application: more and more often, errors occurred on the production line immediately after deployment.

By switching to APPUiO we were able to solve our two biggest problems: with one click we can now increase the number of instances of our PHP servers. More servers during the week. Less during the weekend. We also have Blue/Green deployments: a new version of the application is only activated if it successfully passes tests on the target environment. This means that errors occur significantly less often after a new release.

How did you hear about VSHN and why did you choose APPUiO as your container platform?

VSHN is known in the startup scene as an innovative and reliable provider. Even before the product APPUiO was available, we hosted our software at VSHN.

I knew the product APPUiO from my job at Mühlemann&Popp, a company builder. There we hosted our start-ups very early on APPUiO and had good experiences. Therefore it was obvious to use this solution also for SOBRADO.

What have we achieved together and how do we currently support you?

We have managed to bring a platform, which wasn’t “cloud-ready” by technology (PHP), to the cloud with the help of the specialists from VSHN.

In addition, we can save money because the entire server configuration is now in our source code: our developers can make adjustments themselves and do not always have to rely on VSHN specialists.

But it doesn’t work completely without VSHN: for the tricky things we fall back on them.

What works well and where can we improve?

The application is stable and the processes are well established. At the moment we are very satisfied. What could have gone better in the project? We were not made aware enough that this is a complex platform and that normal software developers should allow enough time for training. Before the actual migration, there was a low level of acceptance of the new infrastructure by our developers. They were hardly familiar with the “OpenShift” and “Kubernetes” technologies. In the beginning, the SOBRADO application also showed increased performance problems, which mainly affected the speed of the software. But these difficulties are now overcome.

Why or for what would you recommend us?

If personal and professional support by specialists in Switzerland is important to you, then you are right at VSHN.

Thank you for your time and open feedback, Silvan. We wish you continued success with SOBRADO and are very glad about our cooperation.

 

The interview was carried out by Markus Speth, CMO of VSHN.

 

About SOBRADO

As a digital pioneer, SOBRADO provides an advantageous solution for all insurance processes. With the use of SOBRADO the offer and tender process for brokers and insurance providers is optimized. A step-by-step process enables brokers to record the tender efficiently and quickly. Offers from insurers are automatically evaluated and compared for the broker with just one mouse click. Furthermore, the SOBRADO Library offers access to important market information with over 5000 insurance-related documents. The SOBRADO platform offers these advantages and much more. Further information is available at www.sobrado.ch

About VSHN – The DevOps Company

VSHN was founded with the intention to fundamentally shake up the hosting market. As a lean startup, we focused on the operation of IT platforms through automation, agility and a continuous improvement process. Completely independent of location and without our own hardware, we operate extensive applications according to the DevOps principle agile and 24/7 on any infrastructure, so that software developers can concentrate on their business and IT operations are relieved. VSHN (pronounced like “vision”) is the leading Swiss partner for DevOps, Docker, Kubernetes, OpenShift, Rancher & 24/7 Cloud Operations. Learn more on www.vshn.ch

About APPUiO – Swiss Container Platform

APPUiO is the largest Swiss container platform for the design, development and operation of applications. Based on proven Open Source concepts such as Docker and Kubernetes, APPUiO enables DevOps: through automation and self-service, development, deployment and operational processes are accelerated and the collaboration between software developers and business organization is improved. APPUiO is a joint brand of VSHN und Puzzle ITC. Learn more on www.appuio.ch

 

Back to Success Stories

Success Story Sobrado & VSHN

Success Story Sobrado & VSHN

SOBRADO hat mit VSHN einen verlässlichen Schweizer Partner für den Betrieb ihrer IT-Plattformen gefunden. Durch Automatisierung und das Streamlining von Betriebsprozessen können neue Versionen und Features viel schneller ausgerollt werden und die Software von SOBRADO ist damit näher bei ihren Kunden, den Brokern. Wie die Zusammenarbeit zwischen SOBRADO und VSHN verlaufen ist, erklärt Silvan Mühlemann, CTO von SOBRADO, in einem Interview.

 

Interview mit Silvan Mühlemann, CTO und Mitgründer von SOBRADO

Hallo Silvan, kannst du uns kurz erklären, was SOBRADO macht?

SOBRADO optimiert den Ausschreibe- und Offertprozess für Versicherungsbroker und Anbieter. Broker können mit SOBRADO einfach Ausschreibungen erfassen und an sämtliche Anbieter versenden. Offerten der Versicherer werden dann automatisiert ausgewertet und sind für den Broker in einem Vergleich ersichtlich. Broker arbeiten so effizienter und sicherer.

Was ist deine Rolle bei SOBRADO?

Ich bin Mitgründer der Plattform, bin CTO und damit verantwortlich für die Software-Entwicklung, die technische Infrastruktur – und das Team, welches dies möglich macht. Zudem stammt der Code vom PDF-Parser – jene Kernkomponente, die Offerten automatisiert auswertet – von mir.

Welche Herausforderungen hattet ihr mit eurer Applikation und der Infrastruktur?

Über die Jahre sind Benutzerzahlen, bearbeitete Datenvolumen, als auch die Menge an Programmcode kontinuierlich gewachsen.

Dies führte mit der existierenden Infrastruktur zu verschiedenen Problemen. Die grössten: Die Applikation zu skalieren wurde zunehmend schwierig. Zum anderen hatten wir wachsende Probleme beim Deployment der Applikation: Immer öfters traten gleich nach dem Deployment Fehler auf der Produktion auf.

Mit dem Wechsel auf APPUiO konnten wir unsere beiden grössten Probleme lösen: Mit einem Klick können wir nun die Anzahl Instanzen unserer PHP Server erhöhen. Mehr Server während der Woche. Weniger am Weekend. Zudem haben wir Blue/Green-Deployments: Eine neue Version der Applikation wird erst aktiviert, wenn sie auf der Zielumgebung Tests erfolgreich besteht. Damit treten Fehler nach einem neuen Release deutlich seltener auf.

Wie bist du auf VSHN aufmerksam geworden und warum habt ihr euch für APPUiO als Container-Plattform entschieden?

In der Startup-Szene ist VSHN bekannt als innovativer, verlässlicher Provider. Schon bevor das Produkt APPUiO verfügbar war, haben wir unsere Software bei VSHN hosten lassen.

Das Produkt APPUiO kannte ich von meiner Tätigkeit bei Mühlemann&Popp, einem Company-Builder. Dort haben wir schon sehr früh unsere Start-Ups auf APPUiO gehostet und gute Erfahrungen gemacht. Deshalb war es naheliegend, diese Lösung auch für SOBRADO einzusetzen.

Was haben wir zusammen erreicht und wie unterstützen wir euch aktuell?

Wir haben es geschafft, eine Plattform, welche von der Technologie (PHP) nicht “cloud-ready” ist, mit der Hilfe der Spezialisten von VSHN in die Cloud zu bringen.

Zudem können wir Geld sparen, da die gesamte Server-Konfiguration nun in unserem Quellcode ist: Unsere Entwickler können selbst Anpassungen vornehmen und müssen nicht immer auf die VSHN-Spezialisten zurückgreifen.

Ganz ohne VSHN geht es aber nicht: Für die kniffligen Dinge greifen wir auf sie zurück.

Was funktioniert gut und wo können wir uns verbessern?

Die Applikation funktioniert stabil und die Prozesse sind eingespielt. Im Moment sind wir sehr zufrieden. Was hätte beim Projekt besser laufen können? Wir wurden etwas zu wenig darauf aufmerksam gemacht, dass es sich hier um eine komplexe Plattform handelt und normale Software-Entwickler genügend Zeit für die Schulung einplanen sollten. Vor der eigentlichen Migration bestand eine geringe Akzeptanz unserer Entwickler gegenüber der neuen Infrastruktur. Sie waren kaum vertraut mit den Technologien “OpenShift” und “Kubernetes”. Am Anfang wies die SOBRADO Applikation ebenfalls vermehrt Performance-Probleme auf, was sich vor allem auf die Schnelligkeit der Software negativ auswirkte. Aber diese Schwierigkeiten sind nun überstanden.

Warum oder wofür würdest du uns empfehlen?

Wenn dir persönliche und professionelle Betreuung durch Spezialisten in der Schweiz wichtig ist, dann bist Du bei VSHN richtig.

Vielen Dank, Silvan. Wir wünschen euch mit SOBRADO weiterhin viel Erfolg und freuen uns über die Zusammenarbeit.

 

Das Interview wurde geführt von Markus Speth, CMO von VSHN.

 

Über SOBRADO

SOBRADO liefert als digitaler Vorreiter einen vorteilhaften Lösungsansatz sämtlicher Versicherungsprozesse. Mit dem Einsatz von SOBRADO wird Offert- und Ausschreibungsprozess für Broker und Versicherungsanbieter optimiert. Ein Schritt-für-Schritt-Prozess ermöglicht Brokern eine effiziente und schnelle Erfassung der Ausschreibung. Offerten von Versicherer werden automatisiert ausgewertet und mit nur einem Mausklick für den Broker verglichen. Weiter bietet die SOBRADO Library mit über 5000 versicherungsrelevanten Dokumenten Zugang zu wichtigen Marktinformationen. Diese Vorteile und vieles mehr bietet die SOBRADO Plattform. Weitere Informationen unter www.sobrado.ch

Über VSHN – The DevOps Company

VSHN wurde mit der Absicht gegründet, den Hostingmarkt grundlegend aufzumischen. Als Lean Startup haben wir uns durch Automatisierung, Agilität und einen kontinuierlichen Verbesserungsprozess auf den Betrieb von IT-Plattformen konzentriert. Völlig standortunabhängig und ohne eigene Hardware betreiben wir umfangreiche Applikationen nach dem DevOps-Prinzip agil und 24/7 auf jeder Infrastruktur, damit sich Software-Entwickler auf ihr Business konzentrieren können und der IT-Betrieb entlastet wird. VSHN (ausgesprochen wie „Vision“) ist der führende Schweizer Partner für DevOps, Docker, Kubernetes, OpenShift, Rancher & 24/7 Cloud Operations. Erfahre mehr auf www.vshn.ch

Über APPUiO – Swiss Container Platform

APPUiO ist die grösste Schweizer Container-Plattform für das Design, die Entwicklung und den Betrieb von Applikationen. Auf Basis bewährter Open Source Konzepte wie Docker und Kubernetes ermöglicht APPUiO DevOps: Durch Automatisierung und Self-Service werden Entwicklung, Deployment und Betriebsprozesse beschleunigt und die Zusammenarbeit von Software-Entwicklern und Betriebsorganisation verbessert. APPUiO ist ein gemeinsamer Brand von VSHN und Puzzle ITC. Erfahre mehr auf www.appuio.ch

 

Zurück zu Success Stories